Barefoot Bloggers – Cheddar Corn Chowder

This is my first post for the Barefoot Bloggers.  The Barefoot Bloggers are a group of blogging cooks and bakers who test Ina Garten’s (The Barefoot Contessa) recipes as a group and blog about them twice a month.  My blogger buddy, Cassie, is a member of this group and told me it was a lot of fun.  I love Ina Garten and have most of her cookbooks, so I figured this would be a good way for me to try her delicious recipes.  The recipe for this week was chosen by Jill of My Next Life.  She picked Ina’s Cheddar Corn Chowder.  It was delicious!  I prepared it over the weekend when we were having cool, fall-like weather, so it was a perfect time for it.  This recipe makes A LOT of soup, so you might want to consider halving the recipe if you aren’t feeding many people or don’t want a lot of leftovers.  Please visit the Barefoot Bloggers site to see everyone’s creations.

DSCI0008 (6)

Ina’s Cheddar Corn Chowder (Courtesy of Ina and Food Network)

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces bacon, chopped (I used a full pound of bacon.  Why not? he he he)
  • 1/4 c good olive oil (I omitted this since I used more bacon)
  • 6 c chopped yellow onions (4 large onions)
  • 4 T (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 2 t kosher salt
  • 1 t freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 t ground turmeric
  • 12 c chicken stock
  • 6 c medium-diced white boiling potatoes, unpeeled (2 pounds)
  • 10 c corn kernels, fresh (10 ears) or frozen (3 pounds)
  • 2 c half-and-half
  • 8 ounces sharp white cheddar cheese, grated

Directions

  1. In a large stockpot over medium-high heat, cook the bacon and olive oil until the bacon is crisp, about 5 minutes. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and reserve. Reduce the heat to medium, add the onions and butter to the fat, and cook for 10 minutes, until the onions are translucent.
  2. Stir in the flour, salt, pepper, and turmeric and cook for 3 minutes. Add the chicken stock and potatoes, bring to a boil, and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes, until the potatoes are tender. If using fresh corn, cut the kernels off the cob and blanch them for 3 minutes in boiling salted water. Drain. (If using frozen corn you can skip this step.) Add the corn to the soup, then add the half-and-half and cheddar. Cook for 5 more minutes, until the cheese is melted. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper. Serve hot with a garnish of bacon.

bb_avatar_2-1028083

Published in: on October 8, 2009 at 10:36 am  Comments (24)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/barefoot-bloggers-cheddar-corn-chowder/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a fabulous idea to try and then discuss Ina’s recipes. I’m doing my best to keep from licking my screen. Corn chowder is one of my favorites.

    • Thanks, Syd! It was pretty frigging good. You’re quite the cook, so you should try it!

  2. Looks good

    • Thanks, Dave!

  3. We loved the soup, too. Great photo! Here’s mine:

    http://foodiewife-kitchen.blogspot.com/2009/10/ina-gartens-hearty-cheddar-corn-chowder.html

    • Thanks, Debby!

  4. I have a serious cold right now and this looks just like what the doctor ordered. I have been seeing this soup all over the internet today and it just sounds so delicious. I’m thinking of signing up for barefoot bloggers myself. I like that you just went ahead and used all the bacon :D I probably would’ve done the same thing (he he he)

    • I have a bit of a cold, too, Kim, and this soup was exactly what the doctor ordered. You should join Barefoot Bloggers! It seemed fundamentally wrong to me to put half a package of bacon away. It was great crumbled in the soup :)

  5. I am loving the sound of this and your group has me convinced to try it.

    • You’d love it, Donna. And, the leftovers are good, too :).

  6. OH MY…does this look good..bone warming good! Love the addition of the bacon!!!!!

    • Thanks, Michelle!

  7. Good, solid recipe! Saw nothing in it I wouldn’t enjoy…

    • Thanks, BD! It was really good :)

  8. It’s been so cold and rainy here for more than a week. Your soup looks PERFECT for this weather.

    • It definitely was, Coleen!

  9. Great job! I quartered it and still have a lot of soup. Congrats on joining!

    • Thanks, Eva! Barefoot Bloggers is a lot of fun :). I agree on the amount of soup….I made the full recipe and had a boatload left. Good thing it was delicious!

      • That’s what freezers are made for!

  10. Gotta love Ina!
    Such a nice, warming soup for the season.

    • It really hit the spot on a cold day, Natashya :)

  11. Yum! I love the looks of this! Ina has such great recipes!

    • I agree WC…I joined this group to “force” myself to try more of her recipes.

  12. Welcome to Barefoot Bloggers! This was a great recipe.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.