Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I had a Cookie Monster-like hankering for some cookies the other day.  While I’m a huge fan of chocolate, I thought oatmeal raisin cookies sounded better.  Since I already had the oatmeal out for my World Bread Day bread, I figured why not?  I found this recipe on the All Recipes website.  I’ve made these babies several times before, and they’re awesome.  Of course, the dough itself is irresistible, and I a downed a good portion of it before they even made it in the oven.  Whoops!  I like my cookies chewy, so I tend to under bake them a little.  You could leave them in a bit longer for a more crispy cookie.  Spicy and delicious….a perfect fall-like cookie :).

DSCI0023 (9)

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (Adapted from All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 1 c packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 c white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 t ground cloves
  • 1/4 t ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs, and vanilla until smooth. Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and salt; stir into the sugar mixture. Stir in the oats and raisins. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 9 to 11 minutes until light and golden. Do not over bake. Let them cool for 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely. Store in airtight container.
Published in: on October 17, 2009 at 6:12 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/oatmeal-raisin-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I cannot resist the dough, either…hey, as long as it gets eaten, right? Right? LOL…they sound delish.

    • He he he you’re right, girl! Cooked or uncooked is all good!

  2. Oh Shelly, These are PERFECT ! I like my cookies on the softer side too….& I always am on the look out for innovative ways to make oatmeal cookies, as I find it is a great way to give my little girl that healthy does of oatmeal… Thanks for sharing. You can bet on it, i will make these : ) …I love that you’ve used all those gorgeous warm spices… I bet it set of an amazing aroma in your home too…

    • Thanks, Nat! These did set an amazing aroma in the casa. I hope you like them :)

  3. I can never resist cookie dough!

    Sometimes a good, comforting oatmeal cookie is just the ticket, isn’t it? Great job!

    • I hear ya, WC! Cookie dough around me tends to disappear :)

  4. Oatmeal raisin cookies are one of my favorites, thanks for sharing.

    • You’re welcome, Coleen :)

  5. Yum! Oatmeal raisin and oatmeal chocolate chip are both great combinations. Have you tried oatmeal, chocolate chip, and raisin??

    • Now there’s an idea….

  6. Oatmeal cookies are pretty popular around here..

    • Same here! As evidenced by the handful in the cookie jar…all that’s left of the batch!

  7. My favorite cookie…the humble oatmeal raisin!

    • Yep, you can’t have chocolate all the time :)

  8. Always undercook em, always make em chewy!

    These look great

    • Thanks, Dave! Chewy cookies are the best aren’t they? :)

  9. Perfect combination, I just finished making Toll House Cookies!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.