Nigella’s Sweet Corn Pudding

The theme for IHCC this week is the monthly Potluck.  The club will be having a Potluck once a month where you can prepare any dish to “share.”  I love potluck dinners.  It’s so much fun to see and enjoy other people’s creations.  Plus, you generally end up with some new ideas or recipes.  I chose to make Nigella’s Sweet Corn Pudding.  I’m a big fan of corn pudding (or spoonbread as it’s sometimes called) and have posted a favorite recipe I’ve made here.  I saw Nigella’s version and thought it would be a perfect dish to bring to a potluck.  The texture was almost soufflé-like….very light and sort of airy.  I added just a bit of cheddar cheese, which wasn’t part of her original recipe.  I thought it was really good.  My husband?  Not so much so.  He thought it tasted too “eggy” and didn’t care for the texture.  Sigh.  I guess not every recipe is a winner.  While I enjoyed it, it’ll probably be a while before I make it again.  I ended up having to eat the majority of it myself as leftovers (which weren’t bad). :)

DSCI0035 (6)

Nigella’s Sweet Corn Pudding (Adapted from Nigella and Food Network)

Ingredients

  • 5 eggs
  • 18 ounces or 2 1/2 cups canned sweet corn, drained
  • 14 ounces, or 1 3/4 cups canned creamed corn
  • 1 1/3 c milk
  • 1 1/3 c heavy cream
  • Generous 1/3 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 c shredded cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Butter a glass 12 by 10-inch baking dish and set aside
  3. In a large bowl, whisk eggs together. Using a spoon, stir in sweet corn, creamed corn, milk, cream, flour, baking powder, salt and cheese. Pour mixture into buttered baking dish. Cook for 1 hour until it is golden brown and slightly puffed up on the top. Serve immediately.

IHCC

Published in: on October 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/nigellas-sweet-corn-pudding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That looks gorgeous Shelly ! I’ve never seen anything like it… the souffle texture sounds great to me!

    Sometimes I cook up stuff my hubs is not thrilled about but i happen to love…so i then try really really hard to convince him on why he should like it too : ) …

  2. Sounds great! Actually, in this house it would be hubby eating the lion’s share of it. I have yet to make a corn pudding.. or even a souffle, but eggs and cheese are hubs’ fave foods.
    This will pair up nicely with Kim’s ribs!

  3. Nigella makes some great combos….this would be a keeper for us. Looking good Shelly.

  4. As a veteran of my fair share of church potlucks (and those ladies will judge like you have never been judged), this would hold it’s own any day. A great item to bring to the table… nicely done

  5. I would happily help you eat it–it looks wonderful! Thanks for bringing it to the potluck!

  6. I love a good pot luck! As in – a REAL pot luck, not one of the kind where people organize it beforehand! This pudding looks really good!

  7. I would love to help you eat it up too :D I made a corn pudding for My Girl Paula and my hubby didn’t exactly love it either. Maybe it reminds them of quiche or something?? It looks delicious and adding cheese is always a welcome thing to me ;)

  8. I could probably polish that entire thing off, all by myself. I love corn pudding.

  9. My aunt (who has passed on nearly 25 years ago) made a similar corn pudding. I’ll have to dig out that recipe and compare. This looks fabulous.

  10. Hmmm, that does sound good. I’ve been trying a lot more made from scratch stuff lately…I think my husband is glad I have to work during the week, otherwise he’d put on a bunch of weight eating the foods I’ve been making on the weekends. :-)

  11. Wow, that would suit my family perfectly! My husband loves cornbread but me not so much, this however would be perfect for us both!

  12. Yum, I’ve made this one before. I make it at Easter along with the ham…the saltiness compliments it well. Looks delish…too bad the hubs didn’t agree :(

  13. Ciao !! This sounds so good !! Bellissimo !


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.