Dark Rye Bread

I love bread, and rye bread is one of my favorite kinds due to its rich, earthy flavor.  I found this recipe for a pumpernickel-style rye bread in my cookbook The Bread Book:  A Baker’s Almanac.  I highly recommend this book.  It has lots of info on bread baking and good recipes.  The loaf didn’t rise very high given the amount of rye flour the recipe calls for.  I used Hodgson Mill’s Whole Grain Rye flour.  Hodgson Mills has the best whole grain products.  This bread was awesome.  It was really good toasted with marmalade or with melted swiss and red cabbage.

dsci0165

 

Dark Rye Bread (Courtesy of The Bread Book:  A Baker’s Almanac)

Ingredients

  • 2 T dry yeast
  • 2 c warm water
  • ½ t sugar or honey
  • ¼ c blackstrap molasses
  • ¼ c maple syrup (or 2 T honey and 2 T unsulphured molasses)
  • ¼ c butter, softened
  • 1 T salt
  • 2 T cocoa
  • 1 T caraway seeds
  • 3 – 4 c unbleached white flour
  • 3 c rye flour, preferably stone-ground
  • Cornmeal

Directions

1.  In a large mixing bowl, dissolve the yeast in the warm water with the sugar or honey.  Let sit until bubbly.
 
2.  Add the blackstrap molasses, maple syrup, butter, salt, cocoa, and caraway seeds and beat well.
 
3.  Add 3 cups of the white flour and beat 2 minutes with an electric mixer or at least 200 strokes by hand.
 
4.  Add the rye flour and mix until the dough leaves the sides of the bowl.
 
5.  Turn the dough out onto a floured board and knead until it is smooth and elastic.  Sprinkle with a little more white flour if it remains too sticky to handle.  When it becomes elastic, stop kneading even if it remains a little clingy to your fingers.
 
6.  Put the dough in a buttered bowl; turn to coat all sides.  Cover with a damp towel and let rise until doubled in bulk.
 
7.  Punch the dough down, turn it out onto the board, and knead a few times to press out air bubbles.  Cut in half, cover with the towel, and let rest 10 to 15 minutes.
 
8.  Shape the dough into two round or oval loaves and put on a greased baking sheet that’s dusted with cornmeal.  You may cut a cross or other design in the tops with a sharp knife.  Brush the tops of the loaves with melted butter, cover with the towel, and let rise in a warm place until almost doubled in size.
 
9.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes, or until the bottoms sound hollow when tapped.  Cool on a rack.  

Makes 2 loaves

Published in: on February 18, 2009 at 8:25 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/dark-rye-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, Glad you stopped by. I love to find new people in the blog world.
    Your bread looks yummy. I love fresh home-baked bread. A few years ago for new years I resolved to not buy bread and I didn’t the whole year or the next 5. I’m back to buying bread now but still love to make it too.
    Thanks again for stopping by and if you want another fun recipe from that cookbook let me know and I’ll e-mail you a picture of the recipe.
    Nice to meet you!
    Cassie

    • Hi Cassie! Nice to meet you as well! Just sent you an e-mail, cause I figured it would be easier…hope that was ok.

  2. This looks so good! I usually make Peter Reinhart’s rye bread recipe, I’ll have to try this one next time.

    • Thanks, Sara! This was the first time I made it, and it turned out pretty good. It didn’t rise much, but I guess that’s to be expected with a rye bread such as this. The flavor was great, though. BTW I coincidentally discovered your blog this weekend…such good stuff! I’ll be frequenting it for sure!

  3. Ha! I have a rye bread up on my site today too! Great minds think alike huh? I haven’t heard of this book before, but I’m a cookbook junkie so I’ll have to check it out. This was my first time on your site, I’m so glad I visited!

    • Great minds do think alike :)! It’s a great cookbook. I love your blog and have been checking it out for quite a while! You have awesome recipes, and I like your philosophy with regard to diet/eating. French Women Don’t Get Fat is one of my fave books. I tried your sourdough waffles this weekend. Heaven! I’ll be making them often!

  4. Delicious, I really like rye bread.
    Cheers,
    Elra

    • Thanks, Elra! Just found your blog tonight. Such great recipes!


Leave a Reply

