Hummus

My name is Shelly, and I’m a hummus addict.  I eat this stuff all the time!  One of my favorite brands of hummus is Sabra.  This stuff is soooo good but very expensive.  A small container at the store is almost $5.  Yikes!  I’ve made hummus before, so I decided to make my own before Sabra broke me.  It’s really very easy to make.  Tahini paste, a paste made of ground sesame seed, is much easier to find in you store than it once was.  I used the Arrowhead Mills brand:

 dsci00051

It was really good.  I’ve also used the Joyva brand with success.  Tahini has a nice, nutty flavor.  It generally needs to be refrigerated, otherwise it’ll turn rancid real quick.  I like to serve it with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and sprinkled with paprika.

dsci0153

Hummus (Courtesy of Recipezaar)

Ingredients

  • 2 (15 ounce) cans garbanzo beans 
  • 1/2 cup tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • 6 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 garlic cloves, pressed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt and pepper

Directions

1.  Drain beans and reserve the liquid when you do so.

2.  Blend beans, along with the other ingredients and 1/4 cup of the liquid.

3.  Process until the mixture is smooth.

4.  Add liquid until the desired consistency is reached.

5.  Adjust seasonings alongwith more cumin, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Published in: on February 18, 2009 at 7:21 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/hummus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sabra is my favorite brand of hummus also! Roasted Red Pepper or spicy papper (?). Im in the same boat, trying to economize and at the same time make more homemade. how did this recipe compare to Sabra?
    thanks for sharing!

    • I like both of those as well, but my favorite is the one with roasted pine nuts :). It’s pretty tough to beat Sabra, but it’s pretty good! Just make sure and add plenty of the liquid from the beans when blending. It may seem too soupy, but it’ll definitely firm up once refrigerated.

  2. Stumbled across your blog and wanted to tell you I love all the pics and recipes you’ve posted. Well done!

    • Hey thanks, Christine! I’m glad you stopped by :)!


Leave a Reply

