Banana-Pecan Chocolate Chunk Bars

I needed to use some overripe bananas I’d frozen and found this recipe on Martha Stewart’s website.  I altered it a bit from the original recipe.  I only had pecans on hand, plus I made these into bars instead of cookies.  Blame extreme laziness on my part.  I really liked these!  They were moist, and I liked the oatmeal in it.  Using oatmeal and bananas practically makes it health food, right?  That’s what I keep telling myself anyway…

dsci0012-4

Banana-Pecan Chocolate Chunk Bars (Adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients

  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c whole-wheat flour
  • 1 t coarse salt
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 3/4 c (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c mashed ripe banana (about 1 large)
  • 1 c old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped into 1/4-inch chunks
  • 1/2 c coarsely chopped pecans (about 2 ounces), toasted
  • Directions

    1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Whisk together flours, salt, and baking soda in a small bowl; set aside.  Mix butter and sugars with an electric mixer until pale and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla; mix until combined.  Mix in banana.  Add flour mixture; mix until just combined.  Stir in oats, chocolate chunks, and pecans.

    2.  Pour mixture into a greased 9 x 13 inch pan.  Bake until the top is golden brown and springs back to the touch, about 20 to 25 minutes.  Cool and cut.

    Published in: on March 24, 2009 at 8:11 pm  Comments (2)  

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/banana-pecan-chocolate-chunk-bars/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    2 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Sounds delicious! After I read the recipe’s name I really needed to know your blog. You have great recipes.

      • Thanks, Talita! I’ll have to check yours out as well 🙂


    Leave a Reply

    