March 2009 Daring Bakers Challenge – Lasagne of Emilia-Romagna

Well, it’s that time again…Daring Bakers Challenge time!  Here’s the gist of this month’s challenge and the hosts:

The March 2009 challenge is hosted by Mary of Beans and Caviar, Melinda of Melbourne Larder and Enza of Io Da Grande. They have chosen Lasagne of Emilia-Romagna from The Splendid Table by Lynne Rossetto Kasper as the challenge.

I was looking forward to this challenge but also nervous because it included a component I’d never tried before:  homemade pasta.  As noted on a previous post, my awesome hubby bought me some great pasta making equipment just for this challenge.  Thanks babe!  I’m really glad he got me that stuff because I probably would’ve had a nervous breakdown if I’d had to make the pasta by hand. 

Here’s a pic of the dough:

dsci0003-5

And here’s the finished pasta drying:

dsci0004-5

In hindsight, I think my dough was a little too wet, but at least I’ll know better next time.  Considering this was my first attempt at making pasta, I didn’t think it went too bad. 🙂

Here’s the first layer of the lasagne during assembly:

dsci0005-5 And the finished product:

dsci0011-51

dsci0015-5

This ordeal was quite a time-consuming process, and I did it over the span of two days.  It was a lot of fun though, since I finally made pasta for the first time and made a lasagne different from what I’m used to.  I followed the recipes exactly for the pasta and béchamel, but I did some substitutions on the ragu.  I used half ground turkey and half turkey sausage to replace all the meat, used all beef broth instead of using red wine, and used one 14.5 ounce can of crushed tomatoes in place of the three plum tomatoes.  So how did it taste?  Eh, it was good, but I don’t see myself making it again.  I also made my usual lasagne along side this as sort of a compare and contrast, and I much preferred it.  Guess I like the “Americanized” version better. 

I’m gonna totally cop out on posting the recipe….it’s freaking long!  Visit Mary’s blog Beans and Caviar (very cool blog BTW) for the recipe in its entirety and also for some cool You Tube videos of the pasta making process.

Thanks to our three hosts for presenting us with a true challenge!  To view the creations of other Daring Bakers, visit the Daring Bakers Blogroll.  Also visit the new home of the Daring Bakers and Cooks, The Daring Kitchen.  Lis and Ivonne did an awesome job on it!

Published in: on March 27, 2009 at 7:48 pm  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/03/27/march-2009-daring-bakers-challenge-lasagne-of-emilia-romagna/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great job..it came out lovely and looks mouth watering!

    • Thanks, Lisa!

  2. wow–i’m super-impressed! i’ve never made pasta, and you’ve done it perfectly! your slab of lasagna seems to have triggered my saliva glands… 🙂

    • Thanks, Grace! I did hit a few speed bumps along the way when making the pasta, but it worked out ok in the end :).

  3. Mmm, your lasagne looks amazing!! Awesome job =D.

    • Thank you, Lauren!

  4. Wow, your pasta held up so much better than mine! How did you do it?

    • Weeelll, it wasn’t without it’s problems, Carrian. As I noted in my post, I think my dough was too wet cause the noodles were kinda brittle after drying. Some of them broke a bit, but I just kinda pieced them together in the lasagne. Luckily, it was hard to tell when it was all done.

  5. For a first time, you did great ! Your lasagne looks gorgeous !

    • Thank you! I loved your take on the lasagne using salmon…very delish!

  6. Your lasagne looks great!

    Interestingly enough, the first (and only) time I tried an Americanised lasagne with loads of ricotta and mozzarella, I didn’t like it at all. I guess it boils down to what you’ve grown up with. Bechamel and ragu all the way for me! 😉

    • Thanks, Angela! Yeah, loads of cheese in a dish kinda gross some people out. I definitely don’t fit in that group! It was fun to try a different way of making lasagne, though.

  7. Fantastic job on your first challenge. Well done

    • Thank you!

  8. Congrats on your first pasta. I had to play with my dough recipe a bit before I had it where I liked it. Looks very yummy. Good job.

    • Thanks, Cassie! Your exactly right…it’s gonna take me a bit of trial and error to get the pasta where I want it.

  9. Beautiful lasagna, no one would ever know this was your first pasta!

    • Thanks, Susan!

  10. I love your pasta drying stand! Great job with this month’s challenge.

    • Hey thanks! That stand is pretty handy!

  11. Looks yummy! So nice that your hubby got you pasta making supplies, you will get the hang of the feel of the dough in no time. Congrats!

    • Thanks, Natashya! I’d have been dead in the water without the equipment that’s for sure :).

  12. It’s really ingenious how you dried your pasta sheets…
    Yummy challenge!!

    • The drying rack worked pretty good, Anna. I was a fun challenge indeed!

  13. Thanks for the nice comments on my blog! Your lasagna looks perfect, and the slice came out nice and square! Can’t wait to see what you bake up next month 🙂

    • Thanks, Joanna! You did a great job as well! I check out your creations regularly, so keep em coming 🙂

  14. I have an award for you. Come by.

    • Yay! So cool! Thanks Cassie!

  15. Your lasagne looks absolutely delicious. I would love to try it but I need to use equipment. I am not use to making my own pasta. I tried it twice all with my Kitchenaide.

    • Thanks, Cheryl! I’m glad I had the pasta machine when I made this. There’s no way I’d have been able to do it by hand!


Leave a Reply

