BBD #18 – Banana Bread with Pecans and Flaxseed

This month’s Bread Baking Day is hosted by Mansi of Fun & Food Blog.  Mansi’s blog is a wealth of information from food to health and fitness, so please visit it!  For this month’s BBD theme, Mansi chose quick breads.  I love quick breads!  I had some frozen, ripe bananas I needed to use (Yeah, the same ones I mentioned in a previous post…I had a lot!), so I decided a banana bread was in order.  I found this recipe on the Martha Stewart website.  It appealed to me because I love to add flaxseed to foods for its health benefits and for extra fiber, and it contained whole-wheat flour.  This was really good!  I personally like to refrigerate quick breads after baking them, slice off a nice slab when it’s good and cold, and add a nice layer of butter.   So bad, but so good :).

dsci0011-4

Banana Bread with Pecans and Flaxseed (Adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients

  • 2 T unsalted butter, melted, plus 1 t unsalted butter, softened, for pan
  • 1/2 c whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c ground flaxseed (from about 2 T whole)
  • 3/4 t coarse salt
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 tn baking soda
  • 1 large egg, plus 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 c light-brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 t pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 c mashed very ripe bananas (about 2 medium bananas)
  • 1/2 c pecans (about 1 3/4 ounces), toasted and coarsely chopped
  • Directions

    1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9-by-5-by-3-inch loaf pan, and set aside. Whisk together the flours, flaxseed, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a medium bowl, and set aside.

    2.  Put egg and egg white in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, and mix on medium-low speed until well combined, about 2 minutes. Add melted butter, sugar, vanilla, and bananas, and mix until combined. Add the reserved flour mixture, and mix on low speed until well incorporated, about 10 seconds. Stir in pecans.

    3.  Pour batter into buttered pan. Bake until golden brown and a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean, about 35 minutes. Let cool slightly in pan on a wire rack. Invert bread to unmold; reinvert, and let cool completely on rack.

    Published in: on March 31, 2009 at 7:30 pm  Comments (16)  

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/bbd-18-banana-bread-with-pecans-and-flaxseed/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    16 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Sounds like a healthy alternative to banana bread. It looks so delicious and moist.

      • Thanks, Donna! It was moist, thankfully. I don’t like dry quick bread. Bleh! 🙂

    2. Nice lil’ bread. 🙂 I like that you can still see some bits of pecan.

      • Thank you, Andreas!

    3. nice, shelly! way to make banana bread extra healthy (thank you, flaxseed) and super delicious (thank you, pecans). 🙂

      • Yeah, Grace, I keep telling myself that the healthy ingredients negate the layer of butter topping the bread when I eat it!

    4. Wow!

      And thanks for your visit and comment over at my blog. I love your site, too, and will subscribe so I can keep up!

      • Cool! I’m still thinking about that cherry dessert on your blog….:). I’m looking forward to your future posts!

    5. Sounds great and looks great too!

      • Hey thanks, Cassie!

    6. Ilove adding flax to my baking. It gives things such a deep and nutty flavor.

      • I agree, Michele. 🙂 I’ve been sneaking it in recipes more and more often.

    7. Gorgeous and healthy; great combination. Well done!

      • Thanks, Dragon!

    8. Sounds yummy! I love the way you snuck some extra nutrition in there – for guilt-free snacking!

      • Thanks, Natashya! Oh yeah, I’m all about adding healthier stuff to make it guilt-free snacking 🙂


    Leave a Reply

    