Meat Loaf and Scalloped Potatoes

On the movie, A Christmas Story (One of my faves!), Ralphie Parker’s brother, Randy, was pissing and moaning at the dinner table about how he hated meat loaf.  Well, unlike him, I like meat loaf!   This meat loaf recipe is another winner from Dining in Style by Ann Lund.  It was delicious!   Check out the puddle of greasy goodness under it….yum!dsci0072

Meat Loaf (Courtesy of Dining in Style by Ann Lund)

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 c oatmeal
  • 2/3 c milk
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • pepper (to taste)
  • 1/2 c carrot, grated
  • 1 c shredded cheddar cheese
  • Sauce:
  • 1 c ketchup
  • 1/2 c water
  • 4 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 t onion powder (or to taste)
  • 1 t dry mustard powder

Directions

1.  Mix meat with oatmeal, milk, onion, salt, pepper, carrot, and cheddar cheese. 

2.  Form into a log and place on a greased baking sheet.

3.  Mix sauce ingredients in a saucepan.  Simmer for 5 minutes.  Pour 1/2 of the sauce over the meat loaf.

4.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Heat the remainder of the sauce and serve with the meat loaf.

One of my favorite dishes to serve with meat loaf  is cheesy scalloped potatoes.  The scalloped potatoes are my own creation.  I had to really think about what I put into it cause it’s usually just a little of this and a little of that :).

dsci0074

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 4 – 5  lbs potatoes, peeled and cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 4 c milk
  • 1 t onion powder (or to taste)
  • salt and pepper (to taste)
  • 4 c shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

1.  Boil the potatoes in salted water until easily pierced with a fork.  Drain and set aside.

2.  Melt the butter in a saucepan.  Add the flour and cook for about 2 to 3 minutes while stirring constantly.  Whisk in the milk and bring it to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium and cook for about 7 or 8 minutes or until thickened.  Remove from heat.  Stir in the onion powder, add salt and pepper to taste, and add the cheese.  Stir until it’s melted.

3.  Combine the cheese sauce with the potatoes.  Pour into a greased 9 x 13 inch pan.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35 to 45 minutes or until the top is golden and it’s bubbly.

Published in: on April 19, 2009 at 6:08 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/meat-loaf-and-scalloped-potatoes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is the second meat loaf recipe I’ve seen today using oatmeal! What a coincidence.

    I LOVE scalloped potatoes – they have got to be my favourite way to eat potatoes!

    • Lol All the meatloaf I’ve had, even as a kid, has oatmeal in it. I just recently discovered a lot of people found that weird. Guess it’s what you’re used to! I’m same as you…bring on the cheesy potatoes!

  2. But, can you look at meatloaf w/o saying “Meatloaf, smeatloaf, double-beatloaf…”? I can’t.

    BTW, these pics gave me lusty thoughts. Yummmmm.

    • Hell no I can’t! Lol Damn movie gets me every time 🙂

  3. Do you have to make the piggy noise when you eat it too?
    Everything looks great. I would love a bit of the potatoes.

    • Oh yeah the piggy noises are mandatory, Cassie! At least they are in my house…

  4. i like meatloaf too, but there’s gotta be sauce on the top and grease on the bottom. 🙂
    your spuds are lovely–i can barely fathom all that cheesy goodness!

    • Oh yeah, Grace, plenty of sauce and grease is mandatory!

  5. Those potatoes are so gorgeous!

    • Thanks, Paula!

  6. I’ve always loved meatloaf!! But I’ve never had it topped with a tomato type sauce. My family has always wrapped meatloaf with bacon. 🙂

    • It’s great with bacon, too, but what isn’t good with bacon? 🙂

  7. That meatloaf look so moist and tasty! Of course cheesy scalloped potatoes would go really well with it!

    • Thanks, Kevin! It was pretty moist…I think the carrot and cheese helped 🙂

  8. those potatoes look awesome! I could eat a big bowl right now!

    • Thanks, Andrea! They were tough to stay out of that’s for sure. I ate a whole lot of them.


Leave a Reply

