Grace’s Sourdough Cownies

One of my favorite blogs I frequent is A Southern Grace.  Grace is hilarious and her posts are lots of fun.  She also makes really awesome food!  One of her specialties is sourdough.  Since I’m always on the lookout for ways to use my starter, her recipes using sourdough are of particular interest to me.  I spied her recipe for Sourdough Cownies and knew I had to make them.  She dubbed them Cownies due to their texture being somewhere between cake and a brownie.  All I have to say is they’re darn good!  I just hope I did them justice :).  Thanks for such posting such a delicious recipe, Grace!

dsci0024-31

Sourdough Cownies (Courtesy of A Southern Grace)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c hot water
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 c butter
  • 2 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 c sourdough starter (active and bubbly)

Directions

1.  To prepare the chocolate mixture, heat the chips and water in the microwave or on the stove.  Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.  Stir in the baking soda (beware, the mixture will foam).  Cool to lukewarm.

2.  Meanwhile, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add the eggs and beat well.  Mix in the vanilla, cooled chocolate mixture, and starter.  Add the flour, cayenne, and salt and blend until the mixture is uniform.

3.  Pour the batter into a greased 9 x 13 inch pan.  Let sit in a warm place for 30 minutes. 

4.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees  and bake the bars 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Published in: on April 26, 2009 at 5:25 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/graces-sourdough-cownies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. huzzah, shelly–i’m glad you enjoyed this moist, chocolate-y experiment of mine, and i’m flattered that you even gave it a shot! thanks for the kind words, too. 🙂

    • These were fantastic, Grace, and they won’t be the last of your delicious “experiments” I’ll try! I thoroughly enjoy your blog, and all your creative ideas :)!

  2. I think I would like to try a crownie too! Looks YUMMY!

    • These were delish, Cassie! My picture doesn’t quite do them justice.

  3. That cownie looks really nice. Interesting combination of sourdough and chocolate/pepper.

    • I would’ve never thought of making something like this either, but it really works. You can’t even taste the sourdough!

  4. What an absolutely brilliant idea! I’m going to have to bookmark this one – thanks!

    • Oh yeah, these were darn good. I hate throwing starter away when I feed it, so it went to good use here!


Leave a Reply

