Pigs in Blankets

I Heart Cooking Clubs is the creation of three of my favorite food bloggers:  Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies, Deb of Kahakai Kitchen, and Heather of girlichef.  These ladies make some totally awesome creations…visit their blogs to bask in the deliciousness.  The premise of the club is to make a chef or cook’s recipe according to a weekly theme.  The club is currently cooking the creations of the Domestic Goddess, Nigella Lawson, and the current theme is Party Treats.  I love Nigella!  She makes such homey, delicious food that’s easily accessible to everyone.  Now, there are tons of fun, original treats you can make for parties.  However, given my unrefined tastes and after seeing Nigella’s recipe on the Food Network website for Pigs in Blankets, I was all over them.  Nigella’s dough was a little different than what I’m used to when making pigs in the blanket…it was sort of biscuit-like.  It was a bit sticky, so I had to add a little more flour than the recipe called for.  Also, I didn’t have whole milk, so I used some fat free half and half, and I added a bit more cheese to the dough.  They were delicious!  I look forward to next week’s theme!

DSCI0091

Pigs in Blankets (Courtesy of Nigella Lawson)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups plus 5+ tablespoons self-rising flour (depending on the texture of your dough, you may need a bit more)
  • 1 heaping teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons grated sharp Cheddar
  • 1 cup fat free half and half
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 package of cocktail sausages (I used Lit’l Smokies)

For glazing:

  • 1 egg, mixed with a splash milk and 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions (Taken directly from the Food Network website…don’t you love how she describes the whole process?)

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Measure 2 cups of flour into a bowl, add the salt and grated cheese and mix lightly with a fork. Pour the milk into a measuring cup to come up to 1-cup mark and then crack in the egg and add the oil. Beat to combine, then pour into the dry ingredients, forking to mix as you go. You may, at the end, feel the dough’s either too dry or too damp: add either more milk or more flour and fork together again until you’ve got a soft dough that’s not too sticky to be rolled out.
  3. Break the dough into 2 pieces and roll 1 piece on a lightly floured surface. Scone dough is a dream to work with; in fact, I find it deeply pleasurable. Just roll as clumsily and heavy handedly as you like: no harm will come to it. You want a thin, but not exaggeratedly so, rectangle. A square wouldn’t be the end of the world either, so don’t start getting out the geometry set: this is the roughest of instructions.
  4. Cut the dough into approximately 1 3/4-inch strips, and then cut each strip at approximately 2 1/2-inch intervals so that you end up with a collection of small, raggedy oblongs (I just cut each strip as I go, but it’s probably more efficient to do the whole batch of dough at 1 time).
  5. Take a cocktail sausage and put it at 1 end of an oblong at a slight diagonal and then roll up, pressing on the infinitely compliant dough to squeeze it shut, and then place on a nonstick baking sheet, or 1 lined with parchment. Carry on until you’ve finished all your strips and then get to work with the remaining dough. Three baking sheets should do it.
  6. Now, dip a pastry brush into the beaten egg mixture and paint on the pastry for a golden glaze. Put in the oven and cook for 12 to 15 minutes, by which time they should be puffy and burnished. Remove from the oven and let cool a little before giving them to the children.

Published in: on September 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/pigs-in-blankets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nigella’s writing is great, isn’t it? She always amuses me with her descriptions in the directions! The pigs in blankets look great!

  2. They are so cute! I could eat half a dozen, at least.
    Great party food, welcome!

  3. These look so good…and I’ve had that page dog-eared forever!! I must make some soon 🙂 Thanks for submitting these beauties and joining us for the fun!

  4. Love them. My family would love these too!

  5. I love Nigella’s descriptions too! She is so much fun to watch. These little piggies look delish! They look like they would be really easy to keep popping in your mouth 😀 Yum!!

  6. You’re little piggies in a blanket look great! I almost made those, but since I’m not that great with dough, I decided against it. Glad you made them for the event!

    • I’m not too good with it either, but it was pretty easy to work with. You should try them sometime! I’m sure you’ll do fine with it.

  7. classic. when i scope out a tray of these at a party, i always make a beeline for ’em. 🙂

    • Oh yeah these babies weren’t safe from me, Grace!

  8. Perfect party fare–love the cheese in them too, (wipes away drool!). Thanks for joining us at IHCC. 😉

    • Thanks, Deb! I love these for parties, too. I’m so glad you ladies created this group :)!

  9. The Dutch man can help- We made these first! Ditch the lil smokies, and use breakfast sausages! Roll up in Crescent rolls and bake.. now you got the real deal.

    • Now THAT would be sublime. Yum!

      • I forgot to tell you, you look like my wife in a younger way.. a compliment to you! No harm done! You have a happy face.. I like that, a lot! Have a great week-end…

      • Hey, I totally take that as a compliment! Thanks! You have a great weekend as well 🙂

      • My son lives in K.C, MO! Would that he could meet you! I like you already!

      • lol Absolutely! We’re practically neighbors 🙂


Leave a Reply

