Nigella’s One-Pan Chicken

This week’s I Heart Cooking Clubs theme is Family Favorites a la Nigella Lawson.  My husband and I love roasted chicken and potatoes, so as soon as I spied her recipe for One-Pan Chicken on the Food Network website, I knew I had to try it.  This was delicious!  I love how the juices from the chicken flavors the vegetables below.  I added herbs de Provence for a little extra flavor, but I’m sure it would be delicious without.  I can guarantee this dish has become a family favorite in this house.

DSCI0115

Nigella’s One-Pan Chicken (Courtesy of Nigella and Food Network)

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • 1 (3 1/2 pound) chicken, cut into 8 pieces
  • 2 1/4 pounds new potatoes cut into 1/2-inch dice
  • 3 medium red onions, cut into segments
  • 16 garlic cloves, unpeeled
  • 3 red peppers, seeded and quartered
  • Coarse sea salt
  • 1/2 c chopped parsley leaves (I left this out, but I’m sure it would be great with it added.)
  • Herbs de Provence

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Get 2 baking dishes and pour in some olive oil to coat. Arrange the pieces of chicken, the potatoes, onions, garlic cloves, and peppers on them. (If you want to use 3 dishes and have got the room, do; the less packed everything is, the crispier the potatoes will be.)  Sprinkle both dishes with herbs de Provence.  Then drizzle some more oil over, making sure everything’s glossy and well slicked (but not dripping), sprinkle with the salt, and bake for about 45 minutes.
  3. When done (and test all the component parts), strew over the parsley and – I always do this – serve straight from the baking dishes.
Published in: on September 27, 2009 at 3:17 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/09/27/nigellas-one-pan-chicken/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. mmmmm….just the picture has set my mouth a-watering! I’m going to have to make this one soon…could become a favorite around here, too 🙂

  2. Anything that looks that good and only uses ONE pan is a winner for me! Debbie (debbmarie)

    • I agree, Debbie! The fewer dishes the better.

  3. Oh my! That would be an instant favourite in my household! I love a good one pan meal, and chicken with red peppers and lots of garlic sounds amazing.

    • There was a bit of cutting/chopping, but other than that is was very simple and easy to clean up, Natashya 🙂

  4. What a beautiful, colourful dish! I love the looks of this, and I love anything all done in one pan! I’m so stoked because I’m going cross border shopping this week and I get to pick up a whole bunch of cheap chicken!

    • It was sooo easy WC! You’d love it.

  5. I love the looks of this one! This is definitely one that everyone will love 😀

    • Thanks, Kim!

  6. Thanks for visiting at my blog/place and the nice comments! Your Nigella dish looks great – we are great fans of chioken in our home.

    • Thanks, Tina! Love your blog 🙂

  7. OH YUM! That picture is making me hungry! Can you send me a doggie bag?

    • He he he We need to invent some cyberspace doggie bags, cause there’s plenty of your creations I’d love to try!

  8. Oh, that looks fantastic, and perfect for the weather we’ve been having. I wonder if it would be good with a few chunks of spicy sausage added in?

    • Thanks, Sarah Kate! Oh I bet sausage would be a wonderful addition!

  9. This chicken looks good. I found a one dish tarragon chicken recipe that I loved, mostly because it was a 1 dish affair. Will have to try this one. I found your blog from My Year On The Grill. Look forward to more of your posts.

    Lea Ann
    http://www.highlandsranchfoodie.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Lea Ann! I loved the fact that this was a one dish recipe. Thanks a lot for stopping by my blog 🙂

  10. Awful pretty food! Nicely done! You close to K.C. MO? Son lives there…. Nice folks out your way, but he is picking up a bit of an accent… 🙂

    • Thanks! I do live close to K.C. MO…in Manhattan, KS, which is about 2 hours away. Accent? No way! We don’t have an accent here! he he he

  11. The chicken looks fantastic!! I love recipes like this…especially the ones that taste so good the next day like I’m sure this one would.

    • Thanks, Coleen! It was really good the next day. Thanks a lot for stopping by…I absolutely love your blog!


Leave a Reply

