Gingersnaps

Gingersnaps are one of those treats that gives me the warm, fuzzies inside (lame I know).  My grandma, who passed away quite some time ago, used to make these all the time when I was growing up.  Whenever I make them, they remind me of her.  I used fresh, grated ginger instead of ground ginger for an extra kick.  Use as much or as little as you like cause it can get kinda spicy!  These really taste better the day after making them.  I find it really hard not to devour them right away, though.

DSCI0048 (3)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gingersnaps (Courtesy of Recipezaar)

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 c flour
  • 2 t grated ginger (or less if desired)
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 3/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t clove
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 3/4 c butter or margarine
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup sugar (separate for rolling cookies in)

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Combine dry ingredients and set aside.

3.  In a large bowl beat butter till soft, gradually add sugars.

4.  Beat in egg and molasses.

5.  Stir in flour mixture.

6.  Roll into balls, then roll in sugar.

7.  Bake 10- 12 minutes.

Published in: on May 12, 2009 at 7:55 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://adventureswiththewoods.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/gingersnaps/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love gingersnaps, too. I made a huge batch at work yesterday and the staff was coming in a spooning the dough right out of the bowl! They sure make the kitchen smell great as they bake, too.

    • Uh, there might have been some raw dough that went missing when these were being made. It was so not me! I love how these smell when they bake as well.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had them made with fresh ginger. I’ll rectify that SOON.

    Oh, and the “warm & fuzzies” over a grandma’s recipe? Totally NOT lame.

    • I hadn’t used fresh ginger before either, but it ended up working well! BTW, Syd, thanks on the warm and fuzzies. lol I tend to get sappy about the kinda stuff that reminds me of my grandma.

  3. fresh ginger? I’ve never seen that before. My BF loves ginger snaps I’m going to forward this to her.

    • Cool! I hope she likes it.

  4. I adore gingersnaps. I will have to try your version soon! I like them all year round, not just holiday season!

    • I can eat those babies year round, too, Donna!

  5. although ginger pales in comparison to my beloved cinnamon, i certainly wouldn’t pass up a cookie or 12. how great that they bring your grandma to mind. 🙂

    • Cinnamon is a fave of mine as well, Grace, but I can’t turn down the ginger especially in this format 🙂


Leave a Reply

